Racialized Thoughts in a Racialized World

The following may be a bit disjointed or unorganized. I hope to rejuvenate my action on this blog as it has been a very long time since I last posted any content. I also will try to share more organized content in future posts as I hope to return to my original format. However, I had some things that I wanted to get off my chest and I felt that taking advantage of this platform would prove beneficial:

It’s been six months since my last post. I’ve been busy with school trying to excel and achieve in my classes and I forgot about this blog for quite awhile. However, I am going to keep this blog at the forefront of my mind because it provides an outlet and a platform, as well as an opportunity for personal thought. A lot has changed for me through the past six months academically and personally. However, what hasn’t changed in that amount of time is the amount of racial tension, misinformation, and empowered prejudice (aka racism)  permeating throughout American society and the world today as it did many centuries ago.

I’ve been learning a lot through my Ethnic and Women’s Studies classes, and I am currently enrolled in a class titled “African American Experience.” Now I understand that the African American experience is a personal experience as it varies between different individuals. No two African American/Afro-American/Black people have the same experience(s). What they do share, however, is a connection-one that spans centuries and eras. People of color all over the world have been and still are systemically oppressed. It baffles me to think that so many people are unaware of this fact. Even more baffling is the fact that many people do not realize the role that they play in this oppression, or the ways in which oppression has been cunningly fitted to the times.

A question that has been going through my mind repeatedly is this: Why do I have to learn about this now through a college education that isn’t free, when I could’ve been enlightened on this issue when I was benefiting from free and public education years ago? Why is it that the one issue (race) that is literally the backbone of American society economically, commercially, politically, and criminally is the one thing that we cannot talk about openly? Why is it such taboo for America to get real with itself? We should all know that the society we are partaking in today is broken and not united at all. Sure, we may have our share of feel-good moments. Sure we have Barack Obama and Oprah Winfrey succeeding and excelling. But what about the rest of us? The success of a few is not necessarily success for all. This concept should be easy enough to understand, yet many people have seemingly ignored it. They say that Black people have achieved enough, that Black people have nothing to complain about. They throw around the myth of meritocracy and suggest that if you have little, it is only because you haven’t worked much. However, this is simply not the case. There are many Black people who have worked more than anyone and yet they still find themselves grasping for leftovers. People are continually treated as third-class citizens in a seemingly first-class society. Unfortunately, this only scratches the surface of the surface of the issue.

Thank you for bearing with my random thoughts. I hope to jump start this blog as an outlet once again.

 

Leave a Reply

